Skip to main content
Explorer
Oct 12, 2022 3:02 PM UTC
Question

If we deactivate a user from Zoom, do we need to "Remove all Packages" for their Zoom phone number?

When we offboard a user, our process is usually deactivating a user via Okta, and that in turn removes their zoom account and it become inactive.

 

However, our current process also states that we manually go into the phone system to "Remove all Packages" if they have a zoom phone number.

 

Is this required or can we leave it as is when a user is inactive? What are the downsides of leaving it vs not? 

    6 replies

    ArvinG
    Employee
    Employee
    Oct 12, 2022 3:45 PM UTC

    If you have this SAML mapped into the Zoom Admin portal I think that 2nd step of "Removing all Packages would no longer be necessary. 

    Translate
    ChrisO
    Specialist
    Specialist
    Oct 12, 2022 5:31 PM UTC

    Hi JacksonK,

     

    In my system, a user who is deactivated by AD that has a phone is marked as inactive in the phone portion of Zoom portal. However, the calling plan and phone number remain and need to be manually removed in order to be reused.

    Translate
    JacksonKAuthor
    Explorer
    Oct 12, 2022 5:36 PM UTC

    Ok so "remove packages" seems like it just allows you to reuse phone numbers? And if we don't, would we get charged if we left it? If someone called the number, will it still bounce? 

    Translate
    ChrisO
    Specialist
    Specialist
    Oct 12, 2022 5:38 PM UTC

    If you are on a large plan, the calling plan license and phone number both need manually removed to be re-used. Numbers that remain on inactive users simply get a "sorry your call can not be completed as dialed" message.

    Translate