Skip to main content
Newcomer
Sep 23, 2024 9:39 PM UTC
Question

Unable to remove meeting password

I'm on the Pro Plan.

I'm unable to remove the passwords for when participants are logging into Zoom calls with me.

When I follow the instructions below...

 

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal 
  2. Click Meetings in the navigation menu 
  3. Click the meeting topic you want to update 
  4. Click Edit 
  5. In the Security section, select the Passcode checkbox 
  6. Edit the passcode 

It will not let me uncheck the Passcode box meaning I have to keep a password on.

5 replies

MGSR
Community Manager
Community Manager
Sep 23, 2024 11:47 PM UTC

Hello @ChrisReddy!

Welcome to the Zoom Community! We're glad to have you here.

Since September 2022, Zoom requires that all meetings have a passcode or a waiting room enabled for accounts with a single licensed user, Pro accounts with 2 or more licenses, and Business accounts with 10-100 licenses. If you want to remove the passcode, kindly turn on your waiting room. 

You can read more in this article. 

Translate
Newcomer
Sep 27, 2024 10:37 AM UTC

I am having same issue. Even though I have toggled on the waiting room, the meeting passcode option is still greyed out. Please advise how to turn off passcode?

Translate
Newcomer
Oct 15, 2024 12:04 AM UTC

Same issue here - I have added a Waiting Room, but the option to turn off Meeting Passcode is still locked with a greyed out blue lock icon that I cannot click.

Translate
MGSR
Community Manager
Community Manager
Oct 22, 2024 5:39 PM UTC

Hello there,

Kindly login to your account on a browser, go to settings > meetings > under security toggle require that all meetings are secured with one security option, toggle on waiting room. If require a passcode when scheduling a new meeting is greyed out and is locked by admin, you would need to have the admin or account owner unlock this option. You may check out this article for Managing Zoom meetings passcode.

 

Translate
Newcomer
Oct 22, 2024 5:45 PM UTC

Thank you Mark. I'm the admin of my account, and I still have the option greyed out / locked.

 

Is this something a more expensive paid plan would enable?

Translate