Skip to main content
Newcomer
Jun 16, 2023 4:16 PM UTC
Question

Recording Zoom video without showing participant faces

Hello,

 

What ZOOM settings do you use to record videos so that the screen can be seen but you do not see the faces of the participants?  I am fine with my face being seen but prefer that my participants faces be kept confidential.

7 replies

Newcomer
Jun 16, 2023 10:16 PM UTC

As a host, in the bottom tool bar on the screen click the icon on the right to open, and then click 'Focus Mode'. This will prevent other's video from coming on the screen, and you can still hear and talk to them. 

Translate
Newcomer
Jul 11, 2023 6:38 AM UTC
Step by step: How to hide participant names in Zoom
 
  1. Go to your Zoom settings on the website (not the desktop app)
  2. In Settings, click the “Recording” tab.
  3. Scroll down to the “Cloud Recordings” section.
  4. Uncheck “Display participants' names in the recording

Regards,

Diana

Translate
Newcomer
Sep 6, 2023 12:42 PM UTC

This still shows participants on the recordings I'm delivering so can't share the training sessions with delegates. Yes the box is unchecked.

Translate
Newcomer
Feb 10, 2024 7:34 AM UTC

Did you ever figure this out? That’s exactly what I’m trying to do too.  

Translate
Newcomer
Feb 12, 2024 4:32 PM UTC

The zoom settings didn't work when we tried it which was disappointing! Minimising all the faces is the only way we haven't tried yet.

 

Translate
Newcomer
Feb 17, 2025 1:31 PM UTC

If the intent is, like in my case teaching an online class, for the instructor to see the gallery while the class is going on, but not have the gallery show up in the published recording, nor any participant become the active speaker in class or recording, then it is like Woodturner1 wrote - in Settings, under Meetings > In Meeting (Advanced) > Focus Mode (set on). And most importantly, during class, when recording, set "Set Focus Mode" on. Note that the the instructor can see all participants in the gallery during the class, but it seems that the participants don't see the gallery during the class, which is not so terrible, because the important part for me is for no participants to be seen in the recording. When screen sharing you get the shared screen only. It's a good solution for this particular scenario.

Translate
Newcomer
Oct 8, 2025 2:28 PM UTC

Super helpful, thank you! 

Translate